Government of India Act 1935

Nehru, whose Congress won a majority in the 1937 elections

The deliberations of the round table conference resulted in the Government of India Act 1935.

The main features of the Act were:

1. A Federation of India was promised for, comprising both provinces and states. The provisions of the Act establishing the federal central government were not to go into operation until a specified number of rulers of states had signed Instruments of Accession. Since, this did not happen, the central government continued to function in accordance with the 1919 Act and only the part of the 1935 Act dealing with the provincial governments went into operation.

2. The provinces were given autonomy with respect to subjects delegated to them.

3. Dyarchy came to an end, and the provincial governments now had full responsibility.

4. Sind was made a separate province.

5. Separate electorates were continued.

6. One third Muslim representation in the Central Legislature was guaranteed.

7. Autonomous provincial governments in eleven provinces under ministries responsible to legislatures would be setup.

The Act came into force on April 1, 1937.